Previous Speakers


Craig Kielburger and Spencer West
Fall 2018 Distinguished Speaker

Craig Kielburger and Spencer West believe that together, WE can change the world.

Dr. James McLurkin

Dr. James McLurkin
Fall 2017 Distinguished Speaker

Dr. James McLurkin's core research is developing distributed algorithms for multi-robot systems: the software for large swarms of autonomous robots. 

Sylvia Earle

Sylvia Earle
Spring 2017 Distinguished Speaker

Dr. Sylvia Earle founding advisory board chair for the Harte Research Institute for Gulf of Mexico Studies at Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi, has many praiseworthy titles. 

Brian Greene

Brian Greene
Fall 2016 Distinguished Speaker

Dr. Brian Greene is a professor of physics and mathematics at Columbia University, where he is also the Director of the Center for Theoretical Physics. 

Gene Kranz and Fred Haise

Gene Kranz and Fred Haise
Spring 2016 Distinguished Speakers

Astronaut Fred Haise and Gene Kranz, legendary NASA Flight Control Director, bring to life a lesson of success from failure with their speech about Apollo 13, the 1970 ill-fated lunar mission.

Bill Nye

Fall 2015 Distinguished Speaker

Bill Nye has made a household name for himself as "America’s Favorite Stand-Up Scientistist", as well as an engineer, comedian, and author.

Jeff Corwin

Spring 2015 Distinguished Speaker

Jeff Corwin is an Emmy-winning TV host, author, and biologist.

Daymond John

Fall 2014 Distinguished Speaker

Daymond John is a young entrepreneur, an industry pioneer, and a highly-regarded marketing expert who has surpassed new heights of commercial and financial success.

Dr. Neil deGrasse Tyson

Spring 2014 Distinguished Speaker

Dr. Neil deGrasse Tyson, a renowned astrophysicist and host of the Carl Sagan reboot, "Cosmos: A Space-Time Odyssey," is recognized as a visionary inciting the scientific curiosity of the next generation.

Sherri Shepherd

Fall 2013 Distinguished Speaker

Sherri Shepherd is a comedienne, actress, and co-host of the award-winning daytime show The View who shares her experiences as a diabetic out of concern over the alarming rate at which people are being diagnosed with Type 2 diabetes.

Dr. Robert Ballard

Spring 2013 Distinguished Speaker

Dr. Robert Ballard is an accomplished oceanographer and deep sea explorer who is best known for his historic discoveries of hydrothermal vents, the sunken R.M.S. Titanic, the German battleship Bismarck, and numerous other contemporary and ancient shipwrecks.

Dr. Michio Kaku

Fall 2012 Distinguished Speaker

Dr. Michio Kaku is a leader in the field of theoretical physics, cofounder of string field theory, and author of Physics of the Future: How Science Will Shape Human Destiny and Our Daily Lives by the Year 2100.

Dr. Michio Kaku

Fall 2011 Distinguished Speaker

Dr. Robert M. Gates served as the 22nd Secretary of Defense (2006-2011) and is the only Secretary of Defense in U.S. history to be asked to remain in that office by a newly-elected President.